

Minutes of the Seaton Town Council ('the Council') Annual Council Meeting on Monday, 12 May 2025

Present:

Chair: Cllr. A. Singh

Town

Councillors: E. Bowman, P. Burrows, N. Dyke, D. Haggerty, M. Hartnell, J. Rowland, J. Russell & C. Wood

Officers: Town Clerk & Deputy Town Clerk

Public: Five members of the public were in attendance.

1. Election of Mayor/Chairman for the Municipal Year 2025/2026

Cllr. Amrik Singh was duly **ELECTED** Mayor/Chairman for the Municipal Year 2025/2026 and read out and sign the prescribed Declaration of Acceptance of Office (proposed Cllr. Haggerty; seconded Cllr Hartnell)

2. Election of Deputy Chairman/Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2025/2026

Cllr. Marcus Hartnell was duly **ELECTED** Deputy Mayor/Deputy Chairman for the Municipal Year 2025/2026 and read out and sign the prescribed Declaration of Acceptance of Office (proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr Russell)

3. Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. Beer & Ledger and the reasons accepted.

4. Declarations of Interest

Cllrs. Hartnell, Haggerty & Ledger declared a personal interest as East Devon District Councillors (EDDC). Cllrs. Bowman, Dyke & Wood declared a personal interest as a volunteer at the Gateway Theatre Company who occupied the town hall and Cllr. Hartnell declared a personal interest as his son was a volunteer there.

5. Minutes

Members **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of a meeting of Seaton Town Council held on Monday 7th April 2025. (proposed Cllr. Bowman; seconded Cllr. Singh)

Members **RESOLVED** to suspend standing orders to bring the following item forward on the agenda. (proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr. Hartnell)



6. Appointments to Committees & Working Groups

Members **RESOLVED** to make the following appointments of councillors to each of the Council's committees and working groups for the 2025/2026 municipal year:

Committee/Working Group	Membership	
Planning	1. Cllr Singh (ex officio)	
-	2. Cllr Hartnell (ex officio)	
5 seats + Chair/Deputy ex officio	3. Cllr Beer	
	4. Cllr Burrows	
	5. Cllr Russell	
	6. Cllr Rowland	
	7. Vacancy	
Finance & General	1. Cllr Singh (ex officio)	
Purposes	2. Cllr Hartnell (ex officio)	
	3. Cllr Beer	
6 seats + Chair/Deputy ex officio	4. Cllr Bowman	
	5. Cllr Burrows	
	6. Cllr Dyke	
	7. Cllr Rowland	
	8. Cllr Wood	
Personnel	1. Cllr Singh (ex officio)	
	2. Cllr Beer	
4 seats + Chair <u>or</u> Deputy ex officio	3. Cllr Bowman	
	4. Cllr Ledger	
	5. Cllr Russell	
Appeals	Members to be appointed by Council as	
	and when it is necessary to convene an	
	appeals hearing, to include either Chair,	
	or Deputy Chair, dependant on which	
	sits on the Personnel Committee	
Foreshore Working Group	1. Cllr Bowman	
	2. Cllr Burrows	
3 members	3. Cllr Dyke	
(proposed Cllr. Singh: seconded Cllr Hage		

(proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr Haggerty)

6. Committee meeting minutes

Members received, and **RESOLVED** to adopt the decisions therein, the minutes of the following Committee meetings:

- Planning Committee 17 March & 7 April 2025
- Personnel Committee 3 June 2024

(proposed Cllr. Rowland; seconded Cllr. Singh)



7. Terms of Reference for Committees

Members reviewed and **RESOLVED** to approve the Council's Terms of Reference for Committees for the 2025/2026 municipal year. (proposed Cllr. Haggerty; seconded Cllr. Singh)

8. Appointments to Outside Bodies

Members **RESOLVED** to make the following appointments of councillors to outside bodies, where the Council is invited to send a representative for the 2025/2026 municipal year:

Outside Bodies 2025-26	
Axe Valley Christians Against Poverty	Cllr Beer
Councillors Police Advocate Scheme	Cllr Haggerty
DALC County Committee	Cllr Beer
Gateway Theatre Company	Cllr Haggerty

(proposed Cllr. Haggerty; seconded Cllr. Singh)

9. General Power of Competence

Members **RESOLVED** to reaffirm the adoption of the general power of competence (proposed Cllr. Haggerty; seconded Cllr. Singh)

10. Review of Council's Constitutional Documents & Policies

Members reviewed and **RESOLVED** to adopt the following constitutional documents and policies for the 2025/2026 municipal year and agree the review schedule for other policies:

- Standing Orders
- Financial Regulations
- Risk Management Policy
- Risk Register
- Scheme of Delegations
- Investment Policy
- Land & Buildings Hire Policy
- Statement of Internal Controls
- Allotment Non-statutory Rules

Members further **RESOLVED** that the review of the Members' Code of Conduct be deferred to the next meeting. (proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr. Haggerty)

11. County Councillor's Report

There was no County Councillor's report.



12. District Councillors' Reports

Members noted the District Councillors' report including Cllr. Haggerty's update on Coach Friendly status, which had now been awarded to Seaton. A presentation would be arranged in due course and all businesses invited.

13. Public Question Time

Members of the public spoke in the support of the application for a community grant by Cycling Without Age.

14. Town Clerk's Report

Members noted the Town Clerk's report and RESOLVED to defer the date of the June meeting of Council from 2 to 9 June 2025 to enable the report of the internal auditor to be considered. (proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr. Haggerty)

15. Asset Register

Members **RESOLVED** to approve the updated asset register and disposals, as at 31 March 2025. (proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr. Haggerty)

16. Financial Report 2024-25

Members **RESOLVED** to note the year-end report including the allotments statement of account, financial risks presented, and update on year-end position after cyber breach. (proposed Cllr. Singh; seconded Cllr. Bowman)

17. Community Grants Disability Access Improvements

Members **RESOLVED** to approve the application for a community grant of £1,500 towards Cycling without Age, Seaton (proposed Cllr. Wood; seconded Cllr. Rowland)

The meeting closed at 6.24pm.

Signed:_____

Dated:_____